• Small Harbours

    Overview of the branch

    The Small Harbours and State Coastal Properties Development Unit (SH & SCPD) is a division under the Department of Public Works’ (DPW’s) Property Management Trading Entity (PMTE).

    Vision: Economically viable Small Harbours and State Coastal Properties.

    Mission: To facilitate the development and growth of Small Harbours and State Coastal Properties and promote job creation, Small Medium and Micro-Enterprises (SMME) Development, Gross Domestic Product (GDP) contribution and drive radical socio-economic transformation.

    5 Year Impact: “What do we aim to change?” - To create self-sustainable harbours and state coastal properties that promote localisation, contribute to unemployment alleviation and promote local SMME and Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment (BBBEE) companies.

    Strategic Objective and target: To contribute R6 Billion to GDP and create 12 100 jobs by 2030

    What is it that the unit does? – Main focus

    The Small Harbours and State Coastal Properties Development Unit was established in 2015 with the following key focus areas:

    • Development of new priority harbours in the Northern Cape, Eastern Cape and KwaZulu Natal;
    • Maintenance and upgrades of the current Proclaimed Fishing Harbours in the Western Cape;
    • Manage the letting out state coastal properties within small harbours; and
    • Participate in Operation Phakisa: Oceans Economy to allow for an integrated and coordinated approach to development within the harbours.