



Jointly issued: Department of Public Works and CBE Enquiries: Bridget Bengu: 082 498 8578 or Trodger Thebe: 082 908 1850

MINISTER THOKO DIDIZA INAUGURATES THE COUNCIL MEMBERS FOR THE COUNCIL FOR THE BUILT ENVIRONMENT (CBE)

Minister of Public Works Ms Thoko Didiza has inaugurated the second term of office of the twenty (20) members for the Council for the Built Environment (CBE) today at the Emperors Palace, Johannesburg International Airport.

The CBE is a statutory body for the Department of Public Works established by a government Act (43 of 2000) and strategically positioned to give leadership in matters related to built environment professions, construction sector in general and advise the Minister of Public Works on policy matters.

The new board members represent the professional councils such as architects; engineering; landscape architecture; quantity surveying; property valuations; and project and construction management. The council members will address pertinent issues in the built environment such as transformation and skills development while strengthening good corporate governance.

Speaking at the inauguration Minister Didiza said that the council members will among others assist in promoting and protecting the interests of the public in the built environment; promote and maintain a sustainable built environment and natural environment; promote ongoing human resource development in the built environment; and ensure the uniform application of norms and guidelines set by the councils for the professions throughout the built environment.

Minister Didiza said that the appointment of the new members for the CBE marks the milestone in the history of the Council.

"I believe that the newly appointed members collectively represent the necessary leadership capability, expertise and knowledge in the built while maintaining a reasonable balance in terms of competence, race, gender and geographical composition."

Minister said: "As the country emerges from the ruins of apartheid, South Africa is standing on the edge of the new challenges and the nation requires the institutional arrangement in the mould of the CBE which will harness the opportunities available to promote available to promote the agenda of development, growth and transformation."

The newly appointed chairperson; Mr Sipho Madonsela assured the Minister and the people of the South Africa that the CBE will be committed to the ideals and goals of ASGISA and government's development and transformation agenda. "Achieving the goals of the ASGISA through the CBE will be among others focusing on attaining scarce skills in the built environment". He also pledged that the Council will act as a conduit between government and professions within the built environment that of ensuring the skills acquisition, transformation, and compliance to the legislation.

The outgoing Chairperson of the council Mr Malcolm Campbell said that he would like to the new council to focus on strategic leadership and rigorously looking at taking the built environment profession forward in meeting the exciting challenges ahead.

CBE MEMBERS LIST OF 2006 MEMBERS

| NAME | REPRESENTING |
|--------------------|-----------------|
| Madonsela SE Mr | ECSA |
| Chairperson | |
| Breedlove G Prof | SACLAP |
| Deputy Chairperson | P.O. Box 259 |
| | Persequor Park |
| | 0020 |
| Campbell M Mr | SACAP |
| | Private Bag X02 |
| | Randpark Ridge |
| | 2156 |
| Chauke RL Mr | SACQSP |
| | P.O. Box 3527 |
| | Halfway House |
| | 1685 |
| Damstra G Mr | DPW |
| Deeks MRD Mr | Public |
| Evans K Ms | SACPVP |

| Haasbroek S Mr | GOVERNMENT |
|----------------------|---|
| Hlatshwayo AB Dr | PUBLIC |
| Israelite C Mr | SACPCMP |
| Lehobye TI Mr | SACPVP 1574 Mamelodi Gardens P.O. Rethabile 0122 |
| Manyathi T Mr | GOVERNMENT Department of Transport and Public Works |
| Moleko K Mr | SACAP Private Bag X02 Randpark Ridge 2156 |
| Montwedi M Ms | GOVERNMENT |
| Newberry R Mr | SACPCMP |
| Perumal S Prof | PUBLIC |
| Pullen R Mr | ECSA Private Bag X691 Bruma 2026 |
| Setshedi GP Mr | PUBLIC |
| Smit S Ms | SACLAP |
| Van der Hoven MC Ms | SACQSP |

END....

Issued: Trodger Thebe Department of Public Works 082 908 1850

> Bridget Bhengu Council for the Built 082 498 8578