## Zuma's cabinet reshuffles...

## The Star - 14 Feb 2018

## Switch View: Text | Image | PDF

Zuma's cabinet reshuffles... Musical chairs reach a climax with midnight shakeup LOYISO SIDIMBA loyiso.sidimba@inl.co.za HIS FIRST CABINET OCTOBER 2010 Communications minister Siphiwe Nyanda replaced by Roy Padayachie. His deputy would be Obed Bapela. Public works minister Geoff Doidge replaced by Gwen MahlanguNkabinde. Women, children and people with disabilities minister Noluthando MayendeSibiya replaced by Lulu Xingwana. Labour minister Membathisi Mdladlana replaced by Mildred Oliphant. Water and environmental affairs minister Buyelwa Sonjica replaced by Edna Molewa. Public service and administration minister Richard Baloyi replaced by Ayanda Dlodlo. Public enterprises minister Barbara Hogan replaced by Malusi Gigaba. His deputy became Ben Martins. Sport and recreation minister Makhenkesi Stofile replaced by Fikile Mbalula. Arts and culture minister Lulu Xingwana replaced by Paul Mashatile. Social development minister Edna Molewa replaced by Bathabile Dlamini. OCTOBER 2011 Public works minister Gwen MahlanguNkabinde and her cooperative governance and traditional affairs counterpart Sicelo Shiceka are axed while national police commissioner Bheki Cele is suspended. JUNE 2012 Sbu Ndebele and Jeremy Cronin are moved from their portfolios as minister and deputy minister of transport respectively Deputy higher education and training minister Hlengiwe Mkhize becomes deputy economic development minister, replacing Enoch Godongwana. Defence minister Lindiwe Sisulu moves to the Public Service and Administration Department, replacing the late Roy Padayachie, while Nosiviwe MapisaNgakula moves to defence. Sindisiwe Chikunga appointed deputy transport minister, with Mduduzi Manana becoming deputy higher education and training minister. JULY 2013 Communications minister Dina Pule is fired and replaced with former cooperative government and traditional affairs deputy minister Yunus Carrim. Human settlements minister Tokyo Sexwale is replaced by ANC MP Connie September while transport minister Ben Martins becomes energy minister, swopping portfolios with Dipuo Peters. ANC MP John Jeffery became deputy justice minis ter taking over from Andries Nel, who is made deputy cooperative governance and traditional affairs minister. Michael Masutha is made deputy science and technology minister, a position made vacant by the appointment of Derek Hanekom as science and technology minister. Hanekom replaces Naledi Pandor, who becomes home affairs minister, after the election of Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma as AU Commission

chairperson. MP Pamela Tshwete is appointed deputy rural development and land reform minister. MAY 2014 Zuma appoints a new cabinet after the national and provincial elections. SEPTEMBER 2015 Mosebenzi Zwane is made mineral resources minister, replacing Ngoako Ramatlhodi, who is moved to the Public Service and Administration Department. The post was left vacant by the death of Collins Chabane in a car accident in March that year. DECEMBER 2015 Des van Rooven is appointed finance minister, replacing Nhlanhla Nene. Four days later, former finance minister Pravin Gordhan returns to the position and Van Rooven replaces him as cooperative government and traditional affairs minister. MARCH 2017 Gigaba is appointed finance minister, replacing Gordhan, while Mbalula becomes police minister, replacing Nathi Nhleko, who is made public Des van Rooyen Pravin Gordhan Blade Nzimande works minister. Other changes include Thulas Nxesi sport, Faith Muthambi public service and administration, Tokozile Xasa tourism, Hlengiwe Mkhize home affairs, Mmamoloko Kubayi energy, Joe Maswanganyi transport and Ayanda Dlodlo communications. OCTOBER 2017 Mkhize becomes higher education and training minister, while ADlodlo replaces her as home affairs minister. Kubayi replaces Dlodlo as communications minister and David Mahlobo takes over from Kubayi. Bongani Bongo is made state security minister. The biggest casualty of the reshuffle is former higher education and training minister Blade Nzimande.

## **Dimensions:**

p.7: Height: 239mm, Width: 383mm

С